when need to discuss upsetting problems, which do you prefer ? email or telephone ?

When meet upsetting or controversial problems, different people have different ways to discuss them with others. Personally, I choose to use email and text messaging every time for the following reasons.

Firstly, email or text messaging can make people pour out their true feelings easily and directly. Thinking of some else is on the other end of the phone when they are about to talk some upsetting or controversial problems, lots of people may be embarrassed or under emotional stress, and the final result is that they say things that they don't really mean. For example, my desk mate is a lovely and energetic girl and we get on well with each other. However, sometimes her over-enthusiastic made me feel uncomfortable. Once I called her and had supposed to point out this problem. But as soon as I heard her friendly voice, I changed my mind, because I found it too hard to speak out the words in my heart. Finally, I wrote an email to tell her everything I thought, and solved this problem successfully. After that experience, I realized that written forms of communication is more efficient for people to express themselves.

Secondly, email or text messaging can prevent conflict and misunderstanding. People are most likely to have a fierce argument with some rude or reasonless behavior when they are discussing controversial problems. Differing from through the telephone directly, exchanging opinions and ideas by writing a message or an email can solve the problems in a more peaceful way, because people have more time to calm down first and carefully consider others' proposals. Few days ago, my uncle's neighbor wanted to occupy their shared platform, and he wrote an email to my uncle. At the beginning, my uncle thought it was a ridiculous idea and felt angry. But after read his reasons, my uncle acknowledged that his neighbor's needs are more important than his, so he willingly consented to the request.

Besides, writing e-mail or text messaging is more convenient and may save more time. We can write it at any time and at any places, while making a phone call we have to guarantee both sides have time. In addition, people won't be bothered by others' reactions by writing e-mail or text messaging. One topic may easily be interrupted or changed by anyone on the other end of the phone. For example, after hearing your upsetting problems, your friends show some sympathy for your situation, and then begin to recall their problems. At last, you totally become a great listener and don't solve your own problem. To be honest, I have wasted too much time in similar situations.

In conclusion, through written forms of communication such as email or text messaging, people can not only express their feelings directly and conveniently, but also avoid conflict and misunderstanding effectively. So I prefer to use e-mail or text messaging when I discuss upsetting or controversial problems with others.