IELTS TASK 2: Discuss both view on whether or not to keep animal in zoo.

Some people believe it's wrong to keep animal in zoos while other think that zoos are important for both its educational and ecological value. Discuss both views

zoo still plays a crucial part in protecting endangered species

In this modern world, there has been an ongoing debate on the controversial roles of the zoo. Some believe keeping animals in cage is morally wrong wwhile others emphasize on the preservation and education roles that rest upon the shoulder of the zoo. In this essay, I shall put forth my arguments to discuss both perspective to get the impartial view of the problem.

There are several reasons to implicate that it's unethical to nurture wildlife animals in captivity. Confining animals in small spaces has been scientifically proven to assert some detrimental effects on their behaviors. Predators raised in the zoo lose their instinct to hunt while small creatures do not feel threatened by their hunters. The disappearance of these traits, which keep them alive in the wild, put their existence in peril. The dependant on human for food and care, in addition, worsen the above problem.

The zoo offers some crucial benefits despite of the downsides. It is, first of all, a sanctuary for some endangered species, which should have perished if left alone in the wild. Take dodo birds for example, if it had not been for the relentless effort of the Australian Zoo, this distinctive bird could have been wiped out. Scientists at the zoo work their best to provide an environment that is predator-free and with stable temperature so that the bird and its offspring can thrive. Another factor to demonstrate the significant role of the zoo is its ample educational value for children of all ages. Zoo is the ideal place to instil the awareness to preserve the environment into young generation's mind.

In conclusion, although facing with several criticisms for its moral issues, the zoo still play a crucial part in protecting endangered species and education young children.