ielts task 2: discuss both views of choosing subjects at university

a choice of subjects for study

Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Other believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Choosing subjects at the university continues to be a controversial topic. There are arguments on both sides, which I will discuss at this essay.

On the one hand, some people believe that choosing subjects following their preference has a certain benefits. Firstly, university student opting for preferred areas of study could get a greater insight into a range of facets such as economy, agriculture, music, science... This means they will have more opportunities for a well-paid job. For instance, the graduates with an understanding of various regions will easily become outstanding and surpass other candidates when applying for a position. Besides, nobody can really predict which areas of knowledge will be most useful to society in the future.

On the other hand, other people point out that university students should focus on subjects that will be helpful for them in the future , because of a vast majority of positive effects it brings to. By concentrating on severals particular subjects will help students gain an intimate knowledge, which will make them become a virtuoso at the aspect they choose in the future. Furthermore, it also help to save time and a great deal of money spending on minor subjects, particular in student with tight budget. Similarly, narrowing curriculum down offers students time to relieve burden of study, balance their life via engaging in social activities such as helping the old, becoming a volunteer,...

In conclusion, it seems to me that university students should not spend almost their time for studying certain things considered important in the future. Personally, these students should pursue what they are really into, simply because the more knowledge they accumulate, the more opportunity they have in the future career.