WRITING TASK 2 - Discuss both views : Economic growth

Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed by countless people that developing the economy is the sole solution to hunger and poverty whereas sceptics argue that it would cause serious consequence to the ecosystem. In my opinion, economic growth contains both benefits and drawbacks.

On the one hand, national economy has an unchangeable role in guaranteeing people's living standards. Comparing to multiple factors which could possibly deal with poverty and hunger including educational quality or accessibility to healthcare, a developed economy clearly does better in tackling practical and serious problems. For example, various issues which create poverty, like labor redundancy or low average wage could not be completely solved with education. In addition, economic growth would stimulate agricultural production as well as other sectors in the country to work effectively as government and companies have more money to operate, thus directly eliminate poverty and hunger.

On the other hand, it is impossible to protect the environment while managing economic activities. To develop the economy, a nation would primarily rely on industry which is also the main cause for numerous kinds of pollution, namely water impurity and air contamination. In fact, the global greenhouse gas emissions from industrial processes reported to increase annually for more than a century without any signs of declining considerably rise the concerns in a lot of countries. Furthermore, despite the presence of modern waste treatment technologies, many companies do not have a proper treatment for waste since the expense for new technologies are generally expensive. Actually, it is not until immoral companies releasing harmful substance into nature are brought to light that people publicly know.

In conclusion, I strongly believed that economic growth is the only way to get rid of poverty and hunger, however, economic activities must observe the regulation for environment and restriction in order to minimize negative impact on the planet.