IELTS - an essay discussed about who should take the responsibility for education

(Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.)

If one of the purposes of education is to tell children how to be good members of society, then it should not be restricted only in home or in school. In other words, both parents and teachers are responsible for children's education.

Parents assume the prior responsibility for next generations' education. Every parent expects his or her children to be vital and beneficial parts of society, so parents have the strongest incentive and willingness to educate their children. What is more, they are able to achieve that. In most cases, parents are the people who children spend most of their time with, and it is natural for children to imitate and learn words and behaviors from their parents. Therefore, it would never be too strict to require parents to be well-behavior and to guide their children.

However, this does not mean younger generations' education could be completely relied on parenting education. Fostering awareness of laws, for example, is a kind of education should not be replaced by others but schools. There are excellent teachers who have received formal and professional training to explain rules and regulations. So it would be effective for students to attend law lectures in school to learn how to conform regulation of the society. Meanwhile, some parents may be busy in working to support their families, and school teaching is an efficient supplement for children's education.

In conclusion, my view is that not only parents should educate children in home, but also should teachers guide children in classes. Both types of education are helpful for children to become prominent parts of society.

I really appreciate your help!