IELTS 2: essay discussed about teaching children, what is good and what is bad for them

It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion ?

difference between right and wrong

People with strong decision making capabilities have achieved more success because they learnt the difference between right and wrong at early stage of their life. Many people argue that giving punishment to children is required to teach them this difference. I completely agree with the statement because child will understand the intensity of making a blunder and extreme emotions have long lasting effect on them in future.

Degree of punishment is directly related with the level of crime. Law and order try to find level of crime based on the arguments from both sides. This decides for how long an accused person have to stay behind bars. Teachers and parents also treat children in same manner to teach them about the things which should be avoided in future. For instance, if a student steal some stuff of other student then teacher should suspend him to teach that its unacceptable by society. So that he can understand what is wrong.

Human brain perform a lot of activities at same time but extreme emotions always stays for a longer duration. People will always remember their happiest and saddest day of life and have better understanding about the reason behind that. If parents punish their children when they commit some mistake which could lead to major crimes in future. Doing such a task might hurt parents as well but child will never repeat it in future. For instance, as per the survey done by Indian Institute of Management, 90% people who never commit any crime in their life had wacked by their parents in early part of their life.

To sum up, this essay discussed about teaching children, what is good and what is bad for them by extreme emotions and level of mistakes. In my opinion, i completely agree that children should well aware about what type of reaction the will get based on type of action they perform.