Discussing the benefits of working in more than one job

These days, people work in more than one job, and often change career several times during their life. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, people tend to work in many different professions in the course of their lives. There are many benefits of this trend, also there are a number of drawbacks.

On the one hand, changing the career path can be seen as beneficial in various ways. Firstly, working in different jobs often broadens the one's horizon. In other words, the person who chooses to change his or her job would have a chance to acquire new knowledge and meet new colleagues; as a result they will improve their expertise and expand their social circle, all of which are valuable life skills. Secondly, the new career might have a financial advantage over the prior one. People often chance their jobs to find better opportunities; therefore, they change to more financially satisfying jobs. Finally, by experiencing more jobs, the individual might eventually find out where his or her passion is, and which job are much suitable for them. Thus, they will be more creative and successful in their targeted jobs.

On the other hand, not having a steady career could have several negative effects. There will be a suffering period in the beginning of every job transition is made. Because each time the worker will probably need to start from scratch again. In addition, blue-collar workers will probably not get justified promotions or hold important positions if they change their career contentiously. To be a CEO of an organization, for example, the employee needs to spend long time in the same company.

In conclusion, doing more than one job during the life could have both pros and cons in the same measures.