IELTS Writing task 2: Discussive passage (money on road systems?)

Topic: As the number of cars increases, more money has to spend on road systems. Some people think that the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

investments in road infrastructure

It is obvious that more money is to be spent on transport infrastructure due to an incremental increase in car ownership. While it can be argued that road system should be wholly financed by the government, I am of the opinion that road users should share the responsibility to subsidize road developments.

There are several reasons why the government has to pay for the improvements of road systems. Firstly, improving citizens' living standards is one of the most crucial responsibilities of a government. State authorities need to raise the convenience and safety of commuting by paying for constructing and upgrading, as transportation is a basic need of each individual. Secondly, investments in infrastructure require a huge amount of money that exceeds inhabitants' financial capability. In fact, numerous major highway road constructions are financed by foreign loans, which need government commitment.

On the other hand, car users' shared responsibility to cover road expenditure is not only beneficial to their own convenience but also to the social community as a whole. As the number of car owners takes up a large fraction of road space, they take great advantage of construction and maintenance on roads as they could save time traveling and increase safety. Moreover, a person who can afford a car is often more affluent than other people. Paying for road constructions, thus, is a kind of financial support for less fortunate people so that the whole community will enjoy a better life.

In conclusion, I believe that government and citizens should join hands to increase investments in road infrastructure for the sake of society.