"the disparity (gap) between rich and poor" - sample writing

The asigment is this :

The following data highlights the disparity (gap) between rich and poor. In at least two paragraphs, addressing the problem and a possible solution, compose a response to the following excerpt from US president Jimmy Carter's Nobel Prize Speech:

At the beginning of this new millennium I was asked to discuss, here in Oslo, the greatest challenge that the world faces. Among all the possible choices, I decided that the most serious and universal problem is the growing chasm between the richest and poorest people on earth. Citizens of the ten wealthiest countries are now seventy-five times richer than those who live in the ten poorest ones, and the separation is increasing every year, not only between nations but also within them.

The disparity between rich and poor is nowhere more evident than in the US. Of all industrialized countries, we rank the lowest (22nd) in equality between rich and poor. Statistics show that in 2004, 34.3 % of population had 35% of the wealth, while 40% of our US population had 0.2% wealth.

My writing is the following :

The discrepancy between the richest and poorest people on earth continues to grow over time. According to the Human Development Reports of United Nations Development Program the US has the second highest level of income per person, and the third highest rate of human poverty. How come one of the countries with the highest level of income can be, also, one of the highest in poverty? Statistics showing the gap between those who have and those who don't is impossible to overlook. It is time to offer a solution to the problem.

The challenge to find out what could be done to reduce the difference has created two groups of specialists, each with their own point of view. Some economist might argue that there needs to a better distribution of the "cake", therefore creating a more egalitarian society, economically speaking. The redistribution group proposes change in taxation, and land reform among other things. At the same time, other economists argue that redistribution of wealth is not the answer. The gap between the richest and the poorest is a consequence of the structure of the economy. Anti-redistribution experts express the need to reduce poverty by creating wealth, not by redistributing it. Since redistribution means taking from the ones that have and giving it to the ones that do not have, soon the poor might notice they do not have to make an effort because the other half is going to take care of them, and the rich wont have the incentive to work as hard because somebody else is going to take what the worked for. The answer to the problem is creating policies that grow our economy and create jobs, creating opportunity, for those who need jobs and those who create them.