Distance Education is not practical for everyone. To what extent you agree / disagree

QUES: More and more colleges and universities are offering courses through distance learning. Distance learning has many benefits, but there are also drawbacks, as this method may not be suitable for all students. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

[/b]

In this era of Information technology face-to-face teaching is no longer a necessity. Distance education has made it possible; it is a solace for those who wish to pursue their education further, in spite of the busy lifestyle. Like any kind of education program, distance learning comes with a host of pros and cons. This essay would discuss, even though online education has many benefits, it is not feasible for everyone.

Firstly, distance education is costly and involves complex technology. For instance, for a person to study online he should possess a computer and the internet connection. It also involves many hidden expenses. To cite an example, for reference one may need to purchase many books, as library facility is not available. At times student may need to look for personal tutor, to clarify their doubts. These all lead to extra charges on the student. Moreover, many employers do not even acknowledge distance learning, thus the hard work and money put in by the person for the studies, will be in vain.

Secondly, although online learning is a self-paced learning, students do need to meet the deadlines. Thus a person with a family or a hectic schedule will have to do hard labour to complete his work on time, and this may lead to further stress and strain. In addition to that, as compared to conventional education system, this method does not offer immediate feedback. So, that student will be in complete ignorance about his progress or mistakes. Online learning also causes social isolation, as tangible atmosphere of formal education will not be there.

To put in nutshell, despite the many opportunities offered by distance learning, there are inevitable accompanying costs. Thus, the person wishing to pursue online education should be ready to meet all the challenges.