The distance between the rich and the poor is enlarging due to development of technology - Ielts 2

Full topic:

The range of technology available to people is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor.

Others think it has an opposite effect. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

In this modern and age, the fast-moving of technology had created some changes in human society. Many people believed that the distance between the rich and the poor is enlarging due to development of technology, whereas, others think technology contributes positive effects to social gap. This essay will discuss both views and I agree that technology developments help decrease the gap between social classes.

On the one hand, it is totally nonsense to assert that technological advancement is partly the reason of increasing rich and poor discrimination. For example, some flagship products and services such as medicine or entertainment services are only affordable for those with high income. The poorer cannot pay that amount to receive the equivalent service. Particularly, in pharmacy area, few advanced technology products normally are more expensive than the others, hence, there are shortage of conditions for poor people to obtain those services if they get the similar diseases as the affluent ones.

On the other hand, technological developments reap enormous benefits for bridging closely the gap between wealth and poverty. Since the presenting of Internet, a number of viral videos are shared online to encourage support for the disadvantaged individual and families, thus, thanks to this development, the benefactors readily join hand and assist to those people overcoming the difficulties. Moreover, before applying technological innovations, Viet Nam was still a poor country, however, after improving as well as advancing the technology and science, Viet Nam became one of the most potential countries in Asia for investigation, also the distance among affluent and impoverished country is narrowed. Last but not least, the more improving technology is, the more price for exclusive products is dropped, which provides the uniformity for both social classes.

In conclusion, while the debate about the effects of technology on the social gap is unremitting, I firmly believed that the range of technology innovations helps to decrease the gap between the rich and the poor.