IELTS task 2 Distant learning as opposed to conventional way of learning

Please help me with this IELTS essay.

Thanks.

Question:

Many universities and collages these days offer distance-learning programs instead of face-to-face courses. Do you think the advantages of this new approach outweigh the disadvantages?

It can be seen that most educational institutions are focusing more on distance learning inorder to combat a heap of concerns and barriers for those who apply well away from these centers. Nevertheless, the convenient style of learning maintaining its own merits points out certain drawbacks in technology-based education. Having looked at both sides I believe that the advantages brought by this E- learning cannot be over ridden for its minor drawbacks.

When the positive aspect of distance learning is taken in to account, it has done enormous benefits not only to students, but also to the universities and in a broader perspective, for the environment as well. From the institution's point of view, lage number of enrollments are possible as space and facilities will no longer be a limiting factor .Similarly, it has maximized the opportunity to cater to the need of a variety of individuals living in the every corner of the world; for example, a baby sitter or a teenage mother is able follow these type of courses with out which it will be a dream for them. In addition, a student engages in fulltime work would be benefited as they can refer the lessons at any time with ease. Further aspect would be, time spent on transport can be eliminated saving both time and money. This has indirectly contributed to keep the environment green by reducing fossil fuel consumption.

However, there remain few arguments in favour of the hardship of distant learning. Firstly, one should fulfill the basic requirements with a computer and the access to the Internet, which may be an extra burden for a beginner. Meanwhile, there are health related issues resulted from long periods of studying in front of the screen and getting isolates from the rest of the students. This is detrimental as it badly affects the social interactions and motivation through peer group competition.

In conclusion, development in the system of education should go hand in hand with the other fast growing fields and this new approach will be a better way of learning for those who have obstacles for further studies and hence its merits can never be outweigh the dark side of it.