Distant-learning and telecommuting

There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home. This is because computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper.

Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, thanks to the incessant development of technology and telecommunications, workers and students can take advantage of the opportunity to fulfil their duties from the comfort of their homes. Even though I perceive that the trend is conducive, I would concede that the drawbacks are also considerable.

Firstly, it is incontrovertible that distance learning and telecommuting offer people a flexible schedule and work-life balance. Consequently, not only can students and employees easily take a break whenever their brains reach a saturation point but they can also spend quality time with their families. Neuroscientists at Harvard University have proved that this can boost productivity by 35% since their brains are adequately supplied with positive neurotransmitters, guaranteeing well-being and eventually, satisfying academic outcomes and great company's projects. Indeed, in 2018, 65% of disciplined remote workers of Facebook reported performing astonishingly more effectively than they would have done if they had been framed in an office space.

On the other hand, despite all of the benefits, studying or working from home requires great discipline. Although technological breakthroughs allow for unprecedented convenience, they are often accompanied by many distractions such as social media and online games. For many people, not until they finish the latest episode of Itaewon class on Netflix or a League of Legends match can they start to work or study seriously. Besides, many studies from Oxford University have proved that even when they are working, their attention can also be split between distractions and duties, leading to worse performance. Therefore, never should anyone choose to work from home unless they are mentally strong.

To recapitulate, opting to work or study from home is double-edged, depending on the attitude of each person. If they can reject Internet temptation, distance-learning or telecommuting is a great opportunity and vice versa