'doing things we don't enjoy' - TOEFL Essay

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: People should sometimes do things that they do not enjoy doing. Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

We often find ourselves doing things we don't enjoy. Not because we want to, but because we are obligated to. Therefore, I believe that people should do things they don't enjoy for many reasons. First, we don't always have the choice to do the things we like. Second, sometimes the society has its own rules that we need to abide by without complaining. Third, in some situations we need to make concessions to those whom we love even though it does not satisfy us.

First of all, we don't always have the choice in doing what we enjoy to do. Sometimes, the circumstances don't help us to choose what we like. Therefore, we often find ourselves doing what we don't enjoy. For instance, after I graduated from high school, my grades did not qualify me to study the field that I had always liked. Furthermore, I had to select a completely different field of study that fits my grades. Although I did not enjoy my undergraduate studies a lot, I earned a degree at the end.

Second, each society has its own rules that the people need to follow. I myself don't like abiding by some of these rules. In my country, for examples, people can't smoke in their offices. For me it is very hard to achieve without being smoking. In addition, non-smoking while working would change my whole mood. However, I took a governmental job even though it was hard to adapt to the non-smoking situation. I knew that if I wanted to enjoy my cigarettes, I would never get a governmental job.

One more important reason is doing things we don't enjoy to satisfy those whom we love. Personally, I try to be tidy all the time at home in order to make my parents happy. I also visit my aunt whom I don't like just to make them feel I am a good son.

All in all, doing things we don't enjoy can be hard and unpleasant sometimes. However, we need to remember that doing such things might get us personal gains and bring happiness to the people around us.