WRITING TASK 2 IELTS: What can be done to prevent people from using their cars?

There is ample evidence that increased car use contributes to global warming and has other undesirable effects on human health and well-being.

What can be done to prevent people from using their cars?

Car usage has grown significantly over the years, bringing increase mobility to those who owns cars but many problems to the society. This essay will explore how better urban planning and investment in public transport can reduce car usage.

Any strategy to reduce car usage must be able to provide the same level of accessibility that cars offer. While no other form of transport can offer this, investment in a holistic public transport infrastructure more people can be persuaded to use mixed mode transportation by walking, cycling and public transport. For example, bike racks at railway stations, park and ride terminals and multi-modal public transport terminals can offer a seamless journey for commuters.

For decades, many of the cities have been planned and built to around a car centric lifestyle. The growth of car ownership has enabled businesses, shops and other institutions to locate farther away from urban centers. Misguided government policies and zoning rules have regularly promoted this to drive business growth, citing cheaper land values and availability of larger lots. However, this has perpetuated the dependency on cars as most of these sites can be reached conviniently only with cars. Mixed land use policies, which incorporate residential and commercial developments can result in drastic reduction in the distances people have to travel. Extension of pedestrian friendly infrastructure and bicycle lanes would also encourage commuters to ditch cars for more eco-friendly transport modes. Perceived difficulties in walking and cycling can be overcome by investing in better and wider pavements, installing more street lighting and putting up more benches.

In summary, investments in urban planning and infrastructure are often neglected in cities, resulting in people using cars to navigate the cities. However, this has a negative impact on the environment and the citizens. It is critical that cities adopt a holistic transport, land use and urban planning strategy to make city and neighborhood more livable by reducing emissions and pollution brought about by cars.