[TOEFL]I dont agree that businesses should do anything they can to make a profit!

This is my essay. Please help me by letting your feedbacks.

Thank you so much.

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Businesses should do anything they can to make a profit.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The conflict of emotion and reasons is always serious and has become the most difficult ï to ï solve problem. In business, it appears more and more violent. In fact, many people support the ideas that businesses should do anything to make a profit. That sounds sensible because the nature of businesses is to create profit. However, I disagree with this point of view. I personally think that besides profit, businesses should also care about other important issues that directly affect human beings' life, such as business ethics and environmental sustainability.

To begin with, people who do business also have to care about ethic problems besides making money. That is responsibility of businesses or corporate towards communities, consumers, employees, etc. to create a better environment for human to live and develop. In all cases, it seems to conflict with making profits therefore people often leave it behind although it's very important. For example, when a company wants to increase it profit in recession period, it can fire lots of employees at the same time regardless of how long they have attached with the company or how well they have performed in their duties. It doesn't care about how these workers can manage for their daily meals or even their fate. This can be considered to be inhuman. Therefore, in addition to aim at profits, businesses also have to take other factors into consideration, especially ethic ones.

Moreover, businesses also have to take environmental factors into account. This means that when doing business to satisfy the present's needs, people have to assure that their business will not compromise the future's needs and resources. In fact, when lured by profits, many businesses will not care about any other problems. The conflict between money and environmental issues is always violent. For example, in my country, people often burn a lot of coconut shells to create a type of coal, which is called "coconut coal". By selling this kind of products, they can earn a lot of money. Although they know that the process of burning these shells can emit a great amount of extremely toxic smoke which can damage their habitat and health, they won't stop because this brings them profits. For that reason, I think that besides making money, businesses should also care about environmental issues to protect themselves and human beings.

In conclusion, I advocate the point of view that when making profits, businesses should also take many factors into account, such as ethics and environment. By this way, businesses will have a sustainable development and positive impacts on the community and human beings.