Do the drawbacks of video games (unhealthy lifestyle, distraction from study) outweigh the benefits?

Today increasing number of people, in particular children and teenagers, play video games for fun. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

MY ANSWER

Nowadays, more and more people, especially the younger generation tend to spend their leisure time on video games. My view is that this trend can bring more drawbacks than the benefits.

First of all, playing video games makes people stay indoors for a longer time in their daily life. They prefer sitting in front of a screen rather to do sports outside, which is harmful for both their eyesight and physical posture. This unhealthy lifestyle also prevents people from going out with their friends and reduces their non-virtue communication, which is more likely to make people self-centered and lonely.

For young students who are addicted to video games, there is another extreme drawback that it has an adverse impact on their study. Children and teenagers are thought to be less self-controlled, which means that they may spend too much time on the games after school instead of focusing on their homework. Consequently, there can be a drop of their grades. Some teenagers may even lose the opportunity to enter a better university for being distracted their attention by video games.

However, it is true that video games can make people relax, particularly when they are under great pressure of work or study. Living in a modern society, many people have too limited time and energy to go for a concert or read a classical book to relax themselves. By contrast, video games can release their stress in a shorter time and easier way.

Overall, although video games can be a good choice of entertainment, I believe that people are affected by its disadvantages more. They may form an unhealthy lifestyle or get distracted from study when they are young. It is suggested that people should pay more attention to manage their time and restrict which is spent on video games.