IELTS TASK2:Should driving be taught at school?

Young drivers are careless and overconfident, and too many are killed in accidents. To eliminate this problem, we could teach children the skills of safe driving while they are at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Throughout the years, the frequency of road accidents has been witnessed as an increasing trend in mankind. It is true that in most cases juvenile drivers are behind these tragic events. However, I do not agree that it is necessary to include driving lessons at school to solve this issue.

Firstly, the risk and choice to learn driving should be a personal option, not a compulsory requirement for everyone. Including driving in the school curriculum would force everyone to do it. This is unfair especially to those who think driving is not yet necessary for them to learn. Persons who opt to learn driving should avail the services of establishments like driving schools and private instructors.

Secondly, if schools were to include driving in their lessons, ironically they are encouraging children to drive at a young and immature age. Law prohibits driving under the age of 18 because these young individuals are considered to be prone in making wrong decisions under critical situations. In the secondary school I went before, faculty took road accidents seriously. They are against on parents consenting their children to drive. Thus, if students were caught doing such acts, they will be suspended for a few days.

Lastly, values like discipline are essential to become a responsible driver. He should control himself to avoid harmful things like drugs and alcohol. Unlike family, schools are limited to theoretically provide ideas and examples only in teaching moral values. Parents are the best teachers for their children in this area since they can be role models and they can show them real life situations.

Overall the aspects of individual preference, maturity, and teaching of moral values lead us to the theory that it is not recommended to have driving lessons taught at school in order to address problems in road accidents.