"Who drove them out to the streets?"

I have to write an essay for the school newspaper connected to my experiences.

Lima, the capital of Peru is home to almost ten million. It is a city where the past and the present exist together. In its urban districts, there are very modern buildings and good cars while in the outskirts there are people who live in huts where there is no electricity or water. In the city, there is a common sight that makes us look back at our current lives. In every crossroad where cars stop, you can see children standing with dirty rags and bottles or kids performing acrobats. They wash the car windows regardlessly to the drivers will and they ask for 10 centimos. Who drove those children out to the street? Most of the children come from the rural areas in the outskirts of the city. Their parents are mostly natives who have been poorly educated. They build huts in the dry desert and come to the city with their children to survive, but the only work they can do without capital is begging. Wherever children are begging, their parents are nearby waiting to collect the meager earnings. The 10 centimos that the children collect, is used for the family's daily bread, or the father's alcohol. The children are required to work on the streets because of their parent's ignorance, poverty, and violence. The Peruvian government builds schools wherever there is a shantytown. However, the children living in those towns cannot attend the local school. Instead they go to the streets. After the years pass they are unable to free themselves from poverty and the chain of poverty is inherited to their descendants who live in the same kind of life of their forefathers. Also as, the city develops the number and the population of the shanty-town's increase. So then should we keep those children on the streets? Around the globe, there are many foundations promoting the education, health, and human rights of children. However, those foundations have no impact whatsoever in the streets of Lima. Therefore as a fundamental solution we must figure out a way to end their poverty and break the chain that is passed down from generation to generation. For example, we must help the poor to regain their ability to cover their basic needs. Simultaneously, we must help them figure out a way to become independent financially. A way to this would be teaching the population some kind of work skill, which would result in an environment where a child would be able to develop and dream. As I end my essay, I want to ask you a question. "What can you do for those children?"

By the way its a high school newspaper.