Drug addicts should be jailed - IELTS 2

Some people think that drug addicts should be jailed, while others claim that they should be rehabilitated. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

A huge number of narcotic users are the hottest issue in the world. Some would argue that addicted people to drugs should be sentenced in prison to make them consider doing inappropriate actions, while others say that they need a treatment in health care to cure their suffering. While both views affect them positively, I believe that the latter notion is the effective way to make them getting better.

The general view has stated that drug users should be arrested. By doing so, it will make addicted users becoming aware. The Jakarta Post news reported in March 2015 that the government in Indonesia has created the policy related to putting drug users into the jail. Nevertheless, 50% of addicted people completely stopped using narcotics, while the rest decided to reuse drugs again after being freed from prison in the following year. However this is not the best way since this policy does not make all of them wary.

Apart from the previous discussion, I believe that putting them in rehabilitation is a better way to make drug addicts conscious. Narcotic users should be rehabilitated to set their mindset psychologically. For example, In London, a survey carried out by Keil Rom in 2014 found that 85% of drug users perceiving rehabilitation program totally recover from narcotics. Such program not only get rid of narcotics from users, but also they are given a positive doctrine. This results in they not using drugs again and becoming more useful people in community.

In conclusion, although sentence addicts in house arrest can reduce the number of addicts, it does not mean that they will not do the same action in the following days. I think that taking care them in hospital should be taken into consideration.