Due to globalization, many kinds of goods become more accessible to people in different places

Countries are becoming more similar because people are able to buy the same products.

IS IT A POSITIVE OR NEGATIVE DEVELOPMENT?

Thanks to globalization, many kinds of goods are no longer limited in some specific areas and become more accessible to people in other places. As a result, there is an increase in the similarity among nations. Personally, I think that the benefits of this trend are more significant than the drawback.

The main disadvantage of this trend is the loss of national uniqueness among countries. For example, in many Asian countries, it is true that fast food is predominantly popular while traditional cuisine is losing its popularity among local people. Similarly, in every big city, most buildings are designed in the Western-style and it is a rare sight to find traditional construction. In other words, architecture with cultural values is becoming less common and important.

However, I would argue that this is a beneficial development for several reasons. With countries becoming more similar, there is no doubt that the gap between poor and rich nations would be narrowed. Plus, the fact that people now can have access to products that were once unavailable in their areas means that there is a boost in international trading. This not only has a positive impact on the global economy but also promotes cultural exchange. As a result of more cultural similarities and less financial differences, it is possible that the number of conflicts among countries would be reduced greatly.

In conclusion, though the increasing similarity among nations can lead to the loss of cultural uniqueness, I believe that this trend itself is positive.