Earliest grade students are required to learn foreign language

All children should study a foreign language, starting in the earliest grades.

To what extent do you agree or disagree to this statement ?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Earliest grade students are required to learn foreign language. I personally agree with this idea that it is important for young pupils to study second/foreign language at the primary level in order to gain impressive competence on its language.

There are good reasons why foreign language needs to be learnt in the earliest grades. Firstly, people are able to imitate a language since they were a child. Children usually repeat the words they listen and easily keep in their mind. A research on a second/foreign language learning and acquisition found that the Critical Period Hypothesis in which at the age of under 13 is the best stage of people to acquire or learn a language to be native-like. Secondly, environment in which all the communities use foreign language as a medium of communication can affect on people behavior. Kids who enrolled in international kindergarten and elementary school are able to speak foreign language because they get used to listen and speak its language each other. For instance, Dian Harapan International School that has around 60% students from local people while the rest are from overseas uses English as their medium of instruction. As the result, the local students are able to speak English well.

Next, nowadays people live in the modern era in which technology becomes primary needs. Students utilize personal computer or notebook to support their learning activities. It means that they have to know foreign language such as English because all the instructions are written on it. Finally, as well as supporting students learning, students use internet to support their lessons and materials. Mostly information in e-learning from world wide websites that can be accessed openly is used international language (English).

In conclusion, I do believe that it is better the students of earliest grades in school to learn foreign language with some profits that they easily memorize the vocabularies and help them to find some information that support their lesson.