SAT ESSAY:ease does not challenge us?

Topic: do you think that ease does not challenge us and that we need adversity to help us determine who we are?

People get different things from different situations. From ease people can just get superficial satisfaction while through adversity they can learn their true beliefs. Thus, it can be readily stated that ' ease does not challenge us; adversity helps us determine who we are'. From US history, one can see how this statement peoves to be true.

Before the war of independence, a series of adversities built the 13 colonies' belief. In the era of ' salutary neglect',13 colonies lived with mild ease. Because the British congress never tended to impose harsh regulation on colonies, all colonies enjoyed a certain degree of automacy and saw no need to unit together. However, after the French and Indian's war, serious adversity came.To pay enormous debt the war had incurred, congress began to impose variety of taxes on the colonies and tried to deprive the colonies of right to self-governing. In 1767, the congress passed the Stamp Act, forcing colonies to pay irrational tax on any official document. In 1770, British sent 10000 troops to Massacusette, nearly half the population of Boston. In 1773, after the Boston Tea party poured the tea of East Indian company, incensed congress passed Intolerable Acts,which disbanded Massacusett's legislature and forbidded any residents from assemblying. As a result, colonies were forced to face the challenge to their automacy and find a way to regain their rights. Through adversity, colonies realized their true beliefs. They were able to understand that because single colony is so weak, it is necessary to unite together to defend their rights. In essense, the colonies bacame aware of their true identity. However, such thing only happened when they were faced with difficulties.

Similarily, in the war of 1812,USA, then a fledging nation formed by the former 13 colonies, see its national belief through adversities. Before the war, the fledging nation had never encountered any economic hardship. With the import from Great Britain, US industry kept prospering. However, such prosperity ended abruptly when president Madison declared war on Great Britain. As soon as the war started, British congress cut all exports to USA. Without the import, US economy suffered enormously that the GDP of USA shrinked to 1\3 of its original size. Therefore, USA was overwhelmed with serious crisis and was forced to discover a way to overcome the difficulty. Along its struggle against difficulty, USA find its true self. USA began to understand that the only way to become am economically strong nation is to develop is to develop the industry independently. From then on, USA gradually get rid of the reliance on import and became a self-sufficient industry nation. Thus, it can be infered that it was the adversity that create a nation with independent identity.

Despite the case above showcasing the benefit of adversity, many people prefer ease to adversity bacause ease can provide them with immediate satisfaction. However, such satisfaction is superficial and transient and in the long term may alienate people from their true selves. In the Roaring Twenties, it seemed so easy to get fortune that most people lost theirobjective and indulge themselves with alcohol. In contrast, although in the short term adversity may hurted individuals, in the long term it can help them find their beliefs. The situation also aplied to the nationa above. Throgh the crisis the colonies got the belief of unity and USA the belief of economic independence. Thus, we can conclude that ease does not challenge us and adversities help us discover who we are.