THE EATING HABIT AND LIFESTYLE OF CHILDREN

adolescents' health issue

In this day and age, the topic of children's eating habits and lifestyles is one which bears some consideration. It is the opinion of this writer that the weight of evidence is on the side of those who believe it brings detrimental influence to adolescents' health.

The idea that fast food gradually becomes pervasive all over the world is of decisive importance. It is clear to all observers that since the breakthrough of technology which leads to the advance of food industry, people manufacture myriad kinds of pre-prepared food and junk food. It is also manifestly true that those contain more food additives and preservatives compared to the past. As a consequence, this can worsen children's health and reduce their life expectancy rapidly. According to TUOI TRE, Vietnam's leading news source, over 25% of people get cancer in the present day because of chemical substances contained in fast food.

Another key component of this case is sedentary lifestyle, it deserves to be acknowledged that students have access to variety of state-of-the-art entertainment technology and prefer spending an excessive time sitting in front of the monitor. This situation leads to the increase of getting short-sighted and obesity in teenagers. An international study showed that if children continued doing more harmful indoor activities, they would have to face negative effects on their health, such as cardiovascular problems.

A final consideration in supporting this opinion is the fact that present-day generation does not play more sports than in the past. It is of inestimable importance to understand that because of being busy studying at school and taking part in extra classes, students have no time doing outdoor activities such as going swimming and playing soccer. In a similar vein, the creation of new types of entertainment activities has attracted more teenagers, which leads to the decrease of people joining sports clubs. Accordingly, it is obviously the culprit of not reaching a wholesome life.

Thus it can be seen that fast food, sedentary lifestyle and not playing sports can hazard children's health. Therefore, it should have been abundantly demonstrated that it leaves bad effects on young generation.