Ielts writing task 2 - eating local food or food from other regions

Topic: In many countries, people like to eat a wide variety of food that can be grown in other areas. As a result, people eat more food produced in other regions than local food. Do the disadvantages of this trend outweigh its advantages?

benefits of food diversity

In the current globalized world, people have more choice to taste food in other regions and they even eat more globalized food than local food. I think this is a good trend, though it may cause some venerable traditional food disappear.

Firstly, increased variety of food gives those people a lot of conveniences who have special requirements. For example, the vegetarian will find more choices in the supermarket, especially when they live in an area that vegetarianism is not so popular. This definitely improves their life qualities. Besides, more food choices imply more freedom on selecting one's eating style.

Secondly, food imported from other areas will compete with locally produced food, which means that customers can buy food with the higher quality, under the same price level. Because of the competition pressure, food production business must endeavor to level the food quality up in the aspects of tasty, materials, and so on. Meanwhile, the business will try to maintain or even decrease their price in order to be more attractive. Such competition would benefit customers in the aspects of eating and drinking.

However, some local traditional food may receive bad influence. Large globalized companies have more mature production technologies, which means they are usually far more efficient than those small local traditional food producers. In addition, large companies have more ability of advertising while the local food may only rely on a recommendation from person to person. Therefore, eventually, those traditional food producers are likely to disappear in this industry because of lack of ability of business competition. Meanwhile, it also means that the traditional methods of producing food, which makes up a part of local culture, will disappear.

In conclusion, although the food diversity may disturb culture diversity, the benefits of food diversity outweigh than its disadvantages.