Writing task 2: economic growth - environment protection

economic development destroys the environment

Topic: Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it should be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In almost all countries, economic development has long been seen as the key to reducing hunger and poverty. However, economic development also simultaneously destroy the environment, so some people think it is better to stop economic development. I would argue that developing the economy and protecting the environment should be carried out simultaneously to ensure sustainable development of each country.

On the one hand, one of the reasons which cause hunger and poverty is unemployment problem. As a result, it is believed that economic development can provide job opportunities for local people, therefore helping them have incomes to release from hunger and poverty. Indeed, the emergence of many new factories and industrial zones create a variety of jobs for local people. To develop the economy, modern machines and advanced technical science are used in many fields to raise quality and productivity of products, such as agricultural field. Relying on that, yields of crop plants and domestic animals have risen steadily, so ensuring enough food resource to supply for every people in case a famine occurs.

On the other hand, economic development also produces negative effects on our environment. This makes people's life be seriously affected. Tourism is considered one of the measures to develop the economy of local areas. However, tourists who threw away litter into the sea, the land... pollute the sea or land environment so killing many animal specials. Toxin chemicals, harmful gases, wastewater... released from industrial factories contaminate water or land recourse, making citizens more susceptible to irreversible diseases including tuberculosis or lung cancer.

In conclusion, the governments should integrate developing the economy with protecting the environment to obtain stable and long-term developments.