Economic growth as a solution for poverty and hunger? What about environment degradation?

the price of the economic growth

Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and should stop. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether the economic development has played a unique role in eliminating the world starvation and poverty or it should be stopped due to heavily destruction for the environment. Although there are vivid arguments on both sides, I think that the growth of economic might be a major priority.

Those who argue that solid economic development causes detrimental influences on the environment may have convincing arguments, with respect to contamination and loss of biodiversity. In the age of modernization and globalization, factories have drastically sprung up all over the world, directly releasing gas emissions into the air and sewage into rivers. As a result, pollution has been common anywhere, especially in developing countries where many factories are located. Additionally, to meet the demand of the continuous economic progress, natural resources have been exploited daily. However, not only does this action increase the level of pollution but the habitats of many fauna and flora will be entirely destroyed as well. Actually, human beings will be impacted by the aforementioned problems including natural catastrophes and health-related problems.

Nevertheless, I think it is impossible to stop the economic growth because of several reasons related to job opportunities and welfare. With regard to the former, the economic progress means numerous firms are come into being, which partly helps create more professions to deal with unemployed problems and improve people's living standards. The second point that need to be considered is that once the national economy has been flourished with the high level of gross domestic product and national income, the social welfare will be enhanced so that the governing bodies will be able to support for the poor and solve the issue of hunger. However, the most noticeable thing is that the authorities should balance the progress of economic with environmental protection, encouraging the enterprises to produce environmentally friendly products.

In conclusion, it cannot be denied that the economic growth greatly contributes to the poverty and hunger eradication, but enterprises should strictly conduct the CSR (Corporate Social Responsibility) for the environment.