( IELTS essay) Economical developments degrade Social values?

Most countries develop their economies to improve the living standards. Some people afraid that, it will cause degradation of important social values. Do you think the advantages overweigh the disadvantages.

The developmental programs of a society bring with increase in living standards along with decreased social values. In this essay, I will explain why I feel the disadvantages of these changes overweigh the advantages.

Social values are important for a community as it provides equality and fairness. Most of the countries encourage immigration of skilled labors from different countries. It help the country in its economical developments. Lack of unity and co-operation between people in a cosmopolitan society, cause conflicts and creates problems in the host country. When the rights of the minorities are constantly neglected, it may leads to voice strikes and disturb the peace of the society.

Apparently, people are more attracted towards the success of people and their high standard of life. Nowadays, both parents are started working outside to raise the finance of the escalating expense of living. The workaholic life style may give tremendous support to the economical developments. However, the number of broken families, old age homes, unattended children and elder people are shooting up, neighbor relations and helping mentality trim down, the gap between haves and have-nots are ever widening.

Additionally, so many countries invite multinational companies, their products and services, and allow them to invest in their own countries, to improve the living status of their citizens. These companies bring with their own culture of consumption of fast foods, fast way of life, consumption of more unnecessary items, and promotion of international products. If it is uncontrolled, it may result in the monopoly of these firms and the distraction of the local culture and market. Craze for costly international products especially among youngsters may guide them to antisocial activities to meet the finance of these costly items.

To conclude, it is clear from the above discussion that, running after uncontrolled developments in different sectors, may cause drastic changes in the social values. Hence, I believe that the disadvantages overweigh the advantages.