IELTS: Economies and the Environment

When a country becomes richer, the natural environment will suffer. It is not possible for a country to both develop its economy and protect the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is stated that the more affluent a country becomes, the more severely the environment is damaged; therefore, it is impossible to develop the economy without making the environment suffer. I do not entirely agree with this statement.

First of all, it is indisputable that many countries are exploiting the environment and its resources to make profit. For years humans have been utilizing non-renewable resources such as gold or platinum to produce goods for domestic use or sell them to countries where these are not available. We are also disturbing the habitats of animals by building factories where they live. This has led to the degradation of the environment. A report demonstrated that after a ten-year period, the people of Australia became wealthier with the annual income rising 0.9%; however, 23% of the habitats of plants and animals were destroyed and the diversity of the ecosystem was reduced.

Nevertheless, I am not wholly convinced that it is not possible to protect the environment and develop the economy at the same time. Some people think a flourishing economy is the result of more advanced technologies and more factories being put into use, which in turn creates a great deal of smog and pollutants. This is true to some extent, yet I am of the opinion that nowadays, scientists are working on modern technologies that are cheap, effective and environmentally friendly. A study, which was carried out in a factory in Germany, showed that after two years of using ecological engineering for wastewater treatment, the level of pollution in the area decreased by 37%. This means that ecofriendly technologies play a crucial role in tackling the negative effects of human beings' activities on the environment.

All in all, it cannot be denied that when a country becomes richer, the environment will suffer from knock-on effects. However, I believe that it is possible to both develop the economy and protect the natural world. If proper measures are taken, there is no reason why a prosperous economy leads to an unhealthy environment.

Could anyone suggest some synonyms for environment and resources? And what kinds of examples can I give besides statistics?