Education should be free irrespective of students' financial background. Agree or disagree

tuition-free education?

Topic: Everybody deserves to be educated. It's unfair that intelligent people are not admitted to universities because of their financial background. University education should be free for everyone. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the opinion on free education has largely been divided due to its controversy. Although many policymakers and education planners are convinced of the downsides of the tuition-free system, the positive impacts of it on young generations and societies cannot be taken lightly.

On the one hand, a free education system could be greatly beneficial for each individual. First, since the opportunity for higher education is distributed evenly irrespective of students' financial background, everybody would have an equal chance to enhance their life skills and background knowledge. As a result, he or she would enter the job market with confidence and have a secured future. Second, free education is not an indication that students don't pay for tuition. In facts, as governments fund education by using taxes, students have already paid the college tuition in the form of taxes.

On the other hand, governments would be rewarded in the long run with the implementation of the free education policy. A significant number of educated citizens greatly contributes to the development and prosperity of a country. As one can perceive, any bachelor and master degree holder can be the next Stephen Hawking or Bill Gates who likely to pave the way for innovations in technology and science for his or her own country. In addition, free education promotes equality. Since everybody has equal rights to pursue higher education, the social equality is restored, thereby preventing potential social unrest stirred by poor and uneducated communities.

In conclusion. the question of a tuition-free education system is open to debate. Given the advantages of an open and equal education system that admits students without considering their financial background, the necessity of free education is undeniable.