[IELTS] SHOULD ALL EDUCATION BE FREE TO ALL PEOPLE AND PAID AND MANAGED BY GOVERNMENT?

TOPIC:

All education (primary, secondary and further education) should be free to all people and paid and managed by the government.

Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, whether all individuals should be entitled to unchargeable education has been receiving a great deal of public attention. While I partly agree that training should be sponsored by the government, I disagree it should be costless for everyone.

Free education is reasonable for several reasons. First, everyone has equal rights to education. This means both the wealthy and the poor are entitled to learning, which makes those who are impoverished have the chance to be lifted out of poverty and get better career opportunities and future. If not, only children from privileged backgrounds can access to education and be better prepared for their future, and juveniles from poor background learn that all attempts, effort they make are useless, and they could not positively change their lives, which perpetuates a cycle of the wealth gap and postpone the country's development and prosperity.

In the other hand, I believe that education should not be free to everybody. This is because most people do not appreciate the value of free training. To be more precise, the number of pupils would be irresponsible to their studies and lose motivation to strive, which leads to low academic results and a waste of investment of government in those students, and a financial strain. Besides, the government only should sponsor for gifted individuals such as Mathematical ingenious students, which helps them fulfil their dreams, and their capabilities would boost national advancement in numerous fields such as science and economy down the road.

In conclusion, although free education is advantageous in a great deal of aspects, it should not be uncharged to all individuals.