IELTS- Education- should graduates pay the full cost of their education?

It is right that university graduates should earn more money than less well educated people, but they should pay the full cost of their education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is no doubt that university graduates deserve higher salaries than the people who are less well educated. However, it is disagreed that they should pay the full cost of their courses.

There are several reasons why graduates from universities should earn good salaries. First, they have invested time and effort into gaining their qualifications. Different courses have different duration but usually university students have to study 3 or 4 years to be qualified and graduate. Second, graduates would have knowledge, skills and training required for important jobs after a long time of studying at universities. Third, they can prove themselves to be a valued asset to society with their capabilities. Some of them are able to do the jobs that not many people can do. Thus, they should be paid more than the persons who only finish year 12 or diploma.

Graduates should not be required to pay the full cost of education. That is because, if university students have to pay upfront the full amount of tuition fee for each semester or term, this fee could be too expensive and will deter many young people from going to university. In a bad scenario, students borrow money to pay the cost of their education, and then they will have a huge debt. To get the money to pay the school fees, some students even have to work in construction sites where they would have to do heavy jobs and exert themselves physically very hard.

In conclusion, for all of the reasons above, it is concluded that university graduates should be paid good salaries but they should not be required to pay the full cost of their studies. It is hoped that governments will open some funds where students can borrow from and then the salaries they receive when they work will be partly deducted to pay back their debts.