Education-sat practice essay; other than school influences on education?

Below is another essay I wrote practicing for the SAT. I would welcome any feedback that can point me in the right direction to a successful SAT essay! Below is the prompt I received and then the essay I wrote. Thank you -kendra

Think carefully about the issue presented in the following excerpt and the assignment below.

The education people receive does not occur primarily in school. Young people are formed by their experiences with parents, teachers, peers, and even strangers on the street, and by the sports teams they play for, the shopping malls they frequent, the songs they hear, and the shows they watch. Schools, while certainly important, constitute only a relatively small part of education.

Assignment:

Is education primarily the result of other than school? Plan and write an essay in which you develop your point of view on this issue. Support your position with reasoning and examples taken from your reading, studies, experience, or observations.

Education is not simply and intellectual ability that one achieves at school; it incorporates every facet of one's life that occupies any significant amount of time or importance. Such as a book read, a class drama production, a sport played and any other meaningful experience.

A famous quote says: "you are what you read". That can be considerably true because literature has the power to form opinions which in turn shape lives. Therefore, books and articles read are part of a person's education and formation.

Many times extracurricular activities mark a one's personality as well. I have learned many things from practicing competitive artistic skating. From self-discipline to good sportsmanship to self-esteem this experience has only enhanced my life with permanent values. These lessons have assisted me in innumerous other situations in my life.

Although most refer to education simply inferring school classes it goes beyond that. Someone in formed by his or her daily life and personal experiences.