( IELTS essay) education can reduce the number of criminals?

In most countries, prison is the most common solution when people commit a crime. However, if they were to receive better education, it could prevent them from becoming criminals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Prisons are places where offenders are treated. The increasing number of criminals behind the bars raises the question whether we can reduce the number of them by proper education or not. However, I am completely agree that proper education can decrease the number of crimes.

Education molds the character and shapes the individual. Good morals from early childhood, from family and society, help the people to grow as good citizens. These moral values enable them to distinguish the right from the wrong. If one understands the situation with patience, he can avoid many problems. For instance, if one believes that it is his right to injure a person who hurts him, it may leads to serious consequences. If he thinks, the one who hurt him may be because of his misunderstanding it is better to forgive him, a big problem may solve. Furthermore, if a person became criminal, with moral education and vocational training we can bring him back to the normal life. These training provide him with proper livelihood to find money for his expenses.

Apparently, good education is the key to success in their future life. Poverty and financial crisis have a pivotal role in raising the crime rates. Successful education provides one with gainful employment and there by financial security. He can enjoy a good living standard to himself and his dependents. As a result, crimes for the need of money may diminish. He knows his rights and responsibilities towards the society and this mentality itself lead him to work in a better way and it attracts success. Besides, the willingness to do any work by knowing the dignity of each work that he had got from education, prepare him to take part in any job and live with contentment. Hence, crazy for more things and need of more money for them, will trim down.

To conclude, I strongly believe that, through proper education and guidance from childhood itself we can mold the mindset of an individual. This may helps to block the shooting crime rates.