IELTS task 2: EDUCATION-TEACHERS (both views and opinion)

teaching not only academic knowledge?

Some people believe that teachers should be responsible for teaching students the difference between right and wrong. Others say that teachers should only teach academic subjects.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In general, education has been considered to broaden knowledge for humankind over the past decades. As a result, varied people believe tutors should only focus on academic lessons at school, however, they also do play a vital role in imparting ethical values to learners. This essay will discuss both views and express the author's opinion.

Without a doubt, moral lessons would significantly instruct students to avoid detrimental actions in society. Specifically, morality teaches human beings to distinguish good things from harmful ones, furthermore, to know how to build and maintain social relationships in real life. For instance, during school time, tutors can educate children on how to communicate with adults and the elderly in the right manner. Meanwhile, it is a popular belief that academic subjects are more practical in higher education and future occupations, however, it is inevitable that teaching morality effectively prevents disrespectful actions throughout the whole life.

Equally important, being taught the difference between right and wrong at a young age can help children maintain that good behavior in the future. It is obvious that children learn from surrounding people since childhood and they are unlikely to change it when they grow up. On the other hand, many would argue parents and family can also be responsible for morally instructing children, hence, it is said that teachers should focus more on academic lessons as subject specialists, instead. Nevertheless, dedicated teachers would support imparting ethical values to children in order to help students realize and know how to treat others in the right manner.

In conclusion, I think dedicated teaches should not only provide students with the academic knowledge but also educate them to become good people in society. It is also recommended that parents and relatives should also significantly contribute to teaching children the difference between right and wrong alongside tutors.