Education for young people is important in many countries. What about illiterate adults?

Education for young people is important in many countries. However, the others think government should spend more money for education in adult population who cannot read and write. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Money for youngsters or adults without schools?

Many believed that more money should be invested by authorities to educate adults who are illiterate. While I believe that the young should get education no matter what situations are, I argue that the government should give an equal spending on both adult illiteracy and young people.

To begin with, financial resources of a nation should be spent on education for young people. Firstly, due to the lack of infrastructure and the shortage of teachers in rural areas, many children in these places are unlikely to receive schooling. Therefore, this leads to the fact that they may become illiterate at the later stage of their age. Secondly, because many poor families cannot pay tuition fees for their children, the government should make it possible to offer them to go to school by allocating money for building public schools or funding scholarships. Consequently, young people will have schooling, helping society to eradicate the illiteracy rate in the long run.

However, adult people who cannot read and write should also need attention from authorities. The first problem is that it may be inconvenient or even serious for adults in some situations since they do not have basic literacy skills. For example, it will be dangerous for them if they travel on roads without an ability in reading traffic signals. This may lead to fatal consequences not only for them but also for other commuters and pedestrians. The second problem is that as they are not literate, they will find it difficult to know what happens around them when they are unable to read newspapers or books. Therefore, they will become much more dependent on others and gradually lose their confidence in their life.

In conclusion, although youngsters have to receive education at any cost, authorities should spend equally money on giving young people education and removing the literacy in adults.