GRE: Educational institutions should encourage students to succeed

Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Has educational institution got the right to dissuade a student from pursuing a career in which he/she is not likely to succeed is a question to ponder up? What is education and what is its main purpose. Education is all about learning new things and skills which help in the evolution of a student to a better individual - for him, for his family and for the society. Above all it should help a student in succeeding in life.

This takes us to another question. What is success? For someone it is about achieving what he/she wanted and what they have been trying to do, for someone it's about becoming rich or famous. Every human being has got a right to pursue what he/she wishes provided it's not harmful to himself or the society.

And how will an educational institute know whether a student will succeed in a particular field by going through his/hers CV or LOR or just by throwing a volley of questions at them during the interview. The main purpose and aim of an educational institute should be about providing everything from an ambient atmosphere, adequate resources, hiring good teachers to inspiring and encouraging a student to succeed in the field he/she has chosen. By dissuading a student, the institution is actually denying him/her the basic right of education.

Hence instead of dissuading a student, an educational institution should encourage him/her to succeed in whichever field he/she chooses and help them in becoming a better individual.