Effect of Single-gender schools - wrtiting task 2 for IELTS

Question:

In many countries today, parents are able to choose to send their children to single-sex schools or co-educational schools. Some people think that children going to single-sex schools have disadvantages later in life.

Answer:

single or a mixed gender school?

In different parts of the world,it is often decided by the parents whether to admit their kids to a single gender school or a mixed gender school. It is considered by many that studying in a all boys or all girls school has some negative impacts on a child's life when they are grown up. I completely agree with this notion and in support of my view I will discuss the problems faced by both male and female students in this essay.

One serious problem faced by the boys having studied in single gender schools is uneasiness while communicating to a girl. As a student spends a vast majority of his life in school and in an all boys school he can only get along with students of the same gender, he faces difficulties interacting with girls. Due to this many boys suffer from severe mental pressure when they enter college and see that the boys coming from a co-educational background have a better rapport with girls than they have. It badly affects them at such a critical juncture of their lives.

Similarly, girls coming from a single-sex school feel nervous when they enter college or join the workforce which have people from both the genders. As they have not had the experience of working and competing with males,they feel dominated by the large number of men in college or workplace. They always prefer to be surrounded by female colleagues and try to avoid getting along easily with men ,which does not contribute to a healthy work environment.

In conclusion, I agree with the notion that children studying in single gender schools face a lot of problems in life in terms of communication and confidence, compared to the ones studying in mixed gender schools.