IELTS-most effective media for communication

Q: Compare the advantages and disadvantages of three of the following as media for communicating information.

comics

books

adio

television

film

theatre

State which you consider to be the most effective. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples for you own knowledge or experience.

answer-

The developments in the field of science and technology have significantly accelerated the growth of communication field. From the old age method of sending messengers to the modern age internet and electronic media, the means of communication have evolved exponentially. The three very effective media for communicating information today are- books, televisions and films.

Books are one of the oldest and most traditional method. People still like to read books to enhance knowledge and understand different perspectives. Books written on various social issues, effectively creates awareness among the people.However, books have some limitations too. Firstly, they require time investment and peaceful ambience, which is hard to find in the rapidly moving modern life. Books also have a very limited reach and can't connect to a large mass. Still, with all the disadvantages, people who read books really gain a lot of knowledge.

Another very effective media is television. Televisions are the most sought after method of communication. They can communicate to the largest mass and every strata of the society. Right from an entrepreneur to an illiterate person, everyone can understand and absorb information through television. Most importantly, television can even give life feed of events, so that one can watch anything happening across the globe while sitting at home. Any last minute changes can also be made before delivering the information. Unfortunately, commercialisation has degraded the quality of information. Televisions , nowadays show a lot of vulgar, irrelevant and fictional shows which do not help the society in any way.

The modern society also likes the films made on various issues. Films amalgamate entertainment and social lessons effectively. A lot of films made on social issues effectively impact the common opinion. However, commercial films which are made on useless themes, promoting vulgarity are detrimental. They don't serve any purpose , instead they are just produced with profit maximisation as the sole objective.

The effectiveness of a media depends on the mass it connects to, the time and the ease with which information can be given. I believe that television is the most effective media with a reach to every strata of the society and rapid fast delivery of information. However, the shows broadcasted should be more beneficial and fact based instead of all the useless commercial spicy shows, which serve no purpose.

WRITING TASK 1

The table below shows the proportion of different categories of families living in poverty in Australia in 1999.

Summarise the information by selecting and reporting the main features, and make comparisons where relevant.

You should write at least 150 words.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Family type --- Proportion of people from each household type living in POVERTY

single aged person --- 6% (54,000)

aged couple --- 4% (48,000)

single, no children --- 19% (359,000)

couple, no children --- 7% (211,000)

sole parent --- 21% (232,000)

couple with children --- 12% (933,000)

all households --- 11% (1,837,000)

The given table illustrates the proportion of various kinds of families in Australia, living in poverty in the year 1999. The different family types considered are- single person, aged couple, single couple without children, couple without children, sole parents and couples with children.

The table clearly indicates that out of all the households, 11% people lived in poverty, exactly 1,837,000 people. The maximum number of people, that is 933,000, living in poverty were couples with children (12% of this category). This was followed by single person with no children. 19% people (359,000) fell in this category of poverty stricken families. Sole parents were the third most affected family type which comprised 21% (232,000) people. Couples without children living in poverty were 7% people in this section (211,000 people). 4% (48,000) aged couple and 6% single aged people (54,000), were living in poverty in this year.

Thus from the table, it is clearly evident that couple with children feel the maximum financial burden followed by single (without children) people. Single aged persons and aged couples are the most prosperous family types.