What is the most effective method of dealing with the rising crime rate, prison? Ielts task2

prison is the best punishment for criminals. Discuss.

What is the most effective method of dealing with the rising crime rate always is a major question in our society. Many people believed that imprisonment is the best way to punish lawbreaker. In my opinion, I totally agree with this idea and in this assay I will support my view with examples.

Firstly, prison sentences would act as a deterrent and would be one useful measure to tackle rising crime. In jail, wrongdoers have no chance to commit a crime. No one can make sure that offenders given non-custodial sentences would not re-offend in time serve other punishments. For example, a recently research of Cambridge University shows that 70% criminal such as shoplifters continue having unlawful actions when they are only given financial punishment.

Another reason why I agree with this stamen is that being in prison, inmates would be educated and then may become a better people. Behind bars, offenders not only have opportunities to learn moral lessons, but they also are received training course about employment. So, when were released back into society they have a chance of rehabilitation and become more useful members. Take my neighbor as an example, after two years of five-year sentence, he understood the meaning of freedom and he successfully reintegrated back into community with a work as a carpenter, which he was learnt in the cell.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that sending to prison is a most powerful punishment for wrongdoers. This method helps to reduce crime figures and rehabilitate prisoners as well.