IELTS 2 - The Most Effective Time for young Pupils to Teach them Foreign Language

Some expert believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

To master foreign language in very young age is the most beneficial achievement in modern era. Some others argue that parents will find a problem since children have a difficulty to pay more attention on learning second language. However, I extremely believe that the merit of teaching the language in early age outweighs any drawback as toddlers have a great brain in this condition.

The main demerit of teaching another language to young children is that they lack of abilities to focus on materials. They will prefer to playing with their toys rather than studying special language. They may gain stressful if parents force them to study. To illustrate, my nephew ignored his mother when she tried to teach English to him by picture book. In the beginning of process, he was enthusiastic to look at the picture. After the following five minutes, he left her and played with his toys. For this problem, obviously children can be taught by other fun activities such as singing, drawing, and playing.

To teach foreign language in early age for children gives advantages because this is the best time of brain development to catch language learning. They are more likely to memorize and imitate easily new vocabulary. A research by psychologists of Twente University found that 80% children in 4 to 8 aged was considerably easier to memorize new words that those who have more than 10 since they are in golden age phase, regarding the right time to receive learning. It means that parents can harness this golden age to teach the language since it works effectively.

All in all, it is the disadvantage that very young pupils have a bad concentration to study particularly foreign language. Indeed, this issue has far more advantage because they can understand the learning easier in their golden age. I suggest to parents to mix between native and foreign languages in daily conversation to ease learning process.