The effects of the growing use of technology in classroom environment

use of computers in education

Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences. Discuss both sides of this argument and then give your own opinion.

The growing use of technology in classroom environment has become a hot topic of much debate in recent years. While some people embrace the merits it offers, others are concerned about its reverse ramifications. This essay, although supports the former opinion, will analyse both views.

(Maybe should add a connecting sentence here instead of going straight into the first benefit - like saying there are a lot of benefits. Going straight in gives off the sense that it is the only benefit you are going to list.) The proponents of this trend are convinced that there are a number of benefits that come with it. Firstly, computers provide students with unlimited sources of information. Google is an excellent illustration for this advantage. With a touch of a button, For instance, by using Google or other search engines learners are able to tap into a wide range of online materials that might be inaccessible without technology. Another benefit of utilising the screens in learning process lies with the ability to take online courses and study at one's own pace. This is to the advantage of those who want to study but are unable to allocate their time or/and finances to enrol on campus. Universities these days offer a plethora of distance-learning courses, giving people myriad opportunities to enrich their knowledge and gain necessary credentials for their future career, and most importantly, at the speed of their choice and without being presence in class.

Turning to the other side of the argument, opponents' main concern is possibly the degeneration of in-person interactions. Learners may no longer find the need to be present at a lecture or a group discussion as these are now feasible virtually. This could weaken interpersonal skills and isolate people. The counter argument for this, however, is that a form of face-to-face communication is still possible via Viber, Facetime or Skype. The negatives, therefore, come nowhere near matching with the positives that technology has brought about.

To encapsulate, while it is important to acknowledge certain negative impacts of using technology in education, the benefits are enormous and should not be ignored. In my opinion, this development is predominantly positive and we should realise it to move forward.