EFFECTS OF INDUSTRIALIZATION TO ENVIRONMENT AND ECONOMY

QUESTION: Industrialization is felt even in developing countries. What are the effects to economy and environment?

We cannot build a dam around the rivers of industrial progress in this day and age, but human as we are, we also are unable to close your eyes to the effects of this raging river.

Many people say that the improvement of major industries all over the world has significantly boost economic performance. The impact of this growth spurt can even be felt in less developed countries like ours; however, while our economy grows stronger our environment becomes weaker as a result. Undeniably, the effects of improved industries are not all good as Mother Earth suffers its consequences.

I am a witness to the damaging effects. In my own hometown, there used to be a river flowing from the hills of Busay. As time went by malls were built along its side. People started to migrate on its riverbanks. A school popped out on its eastern section and dormitories sprang on river bed. As a result, the river disappeared among the canals of poor sewage management. Until one stormy day, it just came to life from hills attacking the roads, since its flowing waters cannot be stopped, people suffered although no one was hurt. This is just one of the clear examples of how industrial growth, good as it may be, can also harm the world we are living in.

I am not saying that economic growth is negatively affecting the world we live in as there is always a flipside to a coin. What I am trying to imply is that we should find ways on how to balance both.

Therefore, even though industrial boom is a good thing, we should always be mindful of its effects so as not to be sorry in the end.