IELTS> effects from using computers everyday; 'overuse and misuse computers'

Hi everyone, please help correcting my essay. Many thanks.

Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People have different views about the use of computers. While there are good arguments in favour of letting children use computers whenever they want, I believe it is better to limit the hours that children can spend on using this form of modern technology.

There are some obvious advantages young children can get from using computers regularly. First, if a child uses a computer to keep accounts, to create document, or to run a software, either for entertaining or studying, he or she could have great computer skills which would be a big help in his or her working life. Second, computers are being increasingly used in shopping. When being connected to the Internet a computer is very helpful in purchasing many different products or services online. If the children can get this benefit from using computers, their life can be a lot easier.

However, without the supervision from adults, children often misuse computers. They are easily attracted by electronic games that tend to be intense and rather violent. The player is usually the 'hero' of the game and too much exposure can encourage children to be self-centred and intensive to others.

Even when children use a computer for other purposes, such as getting information or emailing friends, it is no substitute for human interaction. Spending time with other children and sharing nonvirtual experiences is an important part of a child's development that cannot be provided by a computer.

In conclusion, it seems that the main point is to make sure that young children do not overuse and misuse computers. Parents should allow a specific amount of time for their children to sit in front of a computer and encourage them to learn to enjoy other kinds of activity and interact with other people.