TOEFL - either you choose the same job as your parents do or enter a new field

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents' jobs than

to choose jobs that are very different from their parents' jobs.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

different experience thus different choices

When an individual gradually grows up, he/she can't eacape from facing the issue--finding a job. Job choosing will be one of the most important decision in a person's life. Somebody may say that it will be good for people if they choose the job in their parents' fields while others may say that people should fight for a promising life in a totally new field. As far as I am concerned, both of them have unique advantages and neither choice can surpass the other one.

On one hand, people will have a higher start in their parents' fields. If an individual choose the job which assembles their parents', he/she will be immersed in this specifically professional environment at a very young age. It will give them a sense about the path of the job. What's more, they can also get extra resources--like social network or knowledge which are accumulated by their parents. For instane, my parents are college school teachers. So they wish me to find an academic position in the future. When I decide to go into the same field as they do, I start to prepare for that directly. They teach me how to read and write papers and take me to join professional meetings when I was in high school. So when I entered in university, I begin to do research at the very beginning. And I get tutorial from their colleges. It paves the way for me to continue my PhD degree in the future.

On the other hand, choosing a totally new field can make people grow fast. The people who try to do so are like a poineer. They need to face a totally foreign field: without accumulation of ant network; they need to overcome a series of problems and fight for that by their own hands. For example, one of my best friends whose parents are also specialized in academic field. However, she chooses to learn Fine Art in college. It is totally a reversed fields than her parents'. She behaves activitlly in college to social and seek the chance to hold a personal exhibition. In the end, all her hard work has been paid of and she tells me that she feels like growing so much during the college life.

To conclude, either you choose the same job as your parents do or enter a new field, it will both benefit an individual. Two people will have different experience once they have made different choices. We can not say that one of the choice will be less beneficial than the other.