IELTS Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays.

Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more disadvantages than advantages?

Holidays for workers

Nowadays we get used to have a busman's holiday. We have a holiday but don not realize how we get a phone call from our employer, and our whole holiday spoils. Employee accessibility plays vital role in maintaining smooth business and has become a must in today's world. This practice which will get even more popular in the coming days has its own advantages and disadvantages as well.

To begin with, some professions need working overtime or not working at certain time so employer must be able to contact every of his employees. Medical and nursing professionals have to be there in case of patient emergencies, trauma or calamities and there is nothing wrong about it. The main advantage is that you have saved person's life. About business is the same. Phone call, presentation, or email at right time can save your company and help avoid many problems. However, you have to wait your employees to return from their holiday. They can relax when there is no emergency case in the company, but you are obligated to let them free for time and realize how you waste a precious time. Nowadays, multi nationals companies make very successful tactics. They keep their employees on cloud nine by providing them with free monthly Internet and mobile balance and in this way the boss and his employees can reach each other to accomplish some urgent tasks.

On the flip side, overworking is not good alternative too. Some people do not want to have even a single phone call from their boss. Despite being on holiday, they have the feeling of being haunted by their employer. In this way boss' staff can develop negativity against him. Moreover, some individuals are forced to work round the clock. This leads to overworking, which may further lead to health risk, and other related issues. Research indicates that people who work without getting enough rest often fail to concentrate on the task they are given the next day.

To sum up, I tend to believe that employees should be left alone after office hours because constant touch can evoke a feeling of resentment towards the employer. Furthermore, without getting enough relax, these people cannot tear down the burden from their minds.