IELTS WRITING TASK 2: Some employers prefer formal qualification than life experience

Hi, I would appreciate it a lot if you can assess my writing and also rate the IELTS band score for this essay.

Thank you in advance!

formal academic qualification is not enough

Topic: Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is in this case? Is a positive or negative development?

In these modern days, recruiters tend to prefer employees with formal academic qualifications than those with life experience and personal qualities. I personally believe that this is a negative development.

There are certain reasons for the changing criteria in recruitment nowadays. The first and perhaps most important reason is that academic qualifications are often a reliable proof of one's ability, which helps the employers to save time testing their employees' quality. Moreover, some jobs such as researchers and professors require technical knowledge which can probably be provided better in higher education. Also, it will improve the reputation of the company whose employees are all formally qualified. For instance, there are several law firms that only employ graduates from prestigious schools like Harvard so that their clients would have faith in their lawyers.

However, I believe that overestimating qualifications could lead to numerous negative impacts. First, this development might prompt job-seekers to fake their qualifications in order to avoid being unemployed. In addition, not all qualifications are reliable, in Vietnam some people even earned a Master degree through an online course after a few months. Finally, it is highly likely that a wide range of potential workers could be overlooked as they do not have high qualification, which is a huge loss for a company.

To conclude, it is some employers' belief that formal academic qualification are more important than life experience or personal qualities of employees due to several reasons. In my opinion, this development has negative effects on both companies and job-seekers.