Employment of youngsters would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole

Teenagers to do unpaid work

Topic Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

Voluntary work creates opportunities for the young to develop social skills as well as work wonders for their neighborhood. Although some consider that it had been better make unpaid work obligatory for adolescents I would argue that young people should be allowed to make their own decision about taking part in social activities.

Firstly, becoming a volunteer might have a negative effect on teenagers' health. In adolescent period, people could easily absorb necessary nutrition in order to stay in shape and boost brain growth. However, the young would have no time for themselves as unpaid work requires them to work full time. For example, they might have to eat junk food but not family meals while working that not provides enough energy and does harm to their body and mind.

Secondly, working without any payments steals the young chances to make money for their own goals. Teenagers can take part-time jobs or enroll in a course preparing for their future career. For instance, Mark Zuckerberg started programming when he was only 11. Thanks to his early training, the Facebook CEO became a millionaire at the age 22. It is clear that society seems to exploit the labor of teenagers if they force the young serve the community for free while they have the ability to run their own business.

In conclusion, I disagree that teenagers lose their time and effort for unpaid labor. The community should encourage the young to build better living environment by participating in social work in place of making it compulsory.