Should we encourage the youth to engage in unpaid community work?

Topic Title:

Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that nowadays the youngsters should be encouraged to engage more in community work, and this would be beneficial for both teenagers and society as a whole. Personally, I completely agree with this statement.

To begin with, participating in more voluntary work would bring young people various benefits. First, they could learn more social skills or soft skills such as communication skills or problem-solving skills, which would be extremely helpful for their life or future career. For example, by experiencing volunteering activities, many students have applied practical skills such as time management in their studies, which may lead to good results at school. On top of that, the youth are less likely to spend hours wasting time in front of the screen. Take me as an obvious example, after I had joined a volunteering club at school, this helped me limit the use of social media to only 30 minutes a day.

Furthermore, it is undeniable that society would have long-term benefits. More and more voluntary engagement of adolescents could also create valuable services, which help the needy by providing them with food and clothes. Additionally, this trend may strengthen the relationship between teenagers and the community because the youngsters would know the importance of helping others. As a result, many high schools are organizing more voluntary clubs in order to give their students more chances to experience volunteering.

To sum up, it seems to me that social work without pay would offer advantages for both young people and communities.