English Comp. CLEP - practice essay "Impossible Goals"

I wrote this essay to practice for my upcoming English Comp CLEP- I practiced writing it in 40 minutes. Any feedback on what I should pay attention to during the actual test is greatly appreciated!

There are no challenges so difficult, no goals so impossible, as the ones we set or ourselves.

Write an essay in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement above. Support your discussion with specific reasons and examples from your reading, experience, or observations.

This is the essay:

The goals and challenges you set for yourself are often nearly impossible, but not always. Challenges we face in our lives are sometimes insurmountable, but it takes a keen eye to recognize those that are difficult, but not impossible. In my experience, goals that seem impossible may or may not be, depending upon their true nature. The true nature of goals can be in the categories of truly impossible, seemingly impossible, and unrealistic.

Truly impossible goals are those goals that deal with your ideals or your standard of perfection. For me, that standard is a perfect Christ. My goal is to become like Christ: a truly impossible goal. However, if I strive for this type of goal, I grow as a person. Striving to be perfect in any regard is obviously not plausible, but satisfaction comes from seeing how close you can get. So in that way, they are partially achievable, but full realization of those goals is not possible.

Seemingly impossible goals are goals that appear impossible at first sight, but that are actually achievable. One goal I set for myself in the past that seemed impossible was memorizing the facts for my Business Law CLEP. This I thought was truly impossible! But as my score proved, it was not. Another goal of mine that seemed impossible, but was not, was my goal to build a large shed. With some help from my dad and some power tools, however, this goal was achieved: as the shed in our backyard attests. Thus, seemingly impossible goals are very difficult goals that take time to achieve, but are fully completable.

Lastly, unrealistic goals are goals that are pie-in-the-sky. For example, goals like wanting to be rich and famous by age twenty, or to look exactly like Barbie when you grow up. Some are impossible, and some aren't, but all are unrealistic and fantastic: perhaps even goals that will change on a whim. One goal I set for myself like this one was to make lots of money painting abstract art to sell, and then settle down into a comfortable living creating paintings like Norman Rockwell's. While I'm a good artist in my own way, I know that abstract art would never satisfy my creativity, and that my style is entirely different than Norman Rockwell's. These types of goals aren't taken seriously in your true mind.

So, while the phrase "There are no challenges so difficult, no goals so impossible as the ones we set for ourselves" sounds good, it is only true in a limited sense. We set ourselves many types of goals that seem impossible, but we can only tell if they are truly impossible by striving towards them. So strive for your "impossible" goals-they will grow you as a person, and maybe surprise you by being achievable!